Prizes & Awards

European Physical Society Plasma Physics Division Hannes Alfvén Prize

The Hannes Alfvén Prize of the European Physical Society for Outstanding Contributions to Plasma Physics, established in 2000, is awarded each year at the EPS Conference on Plasma Physics for pioneering work in experimental or theoretical plasma physics, which has shaped the field or is expected to do so in future.

We congratulate the 2019 prize winners Prof. Victor Malka, (LOA, CNRS, ENSTA, Ecole Polytechnique, Paris, France, and Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel) and Prof. Toshiki Tajima (University of California, Irvine, U.S.A.). See announcement here.

2019 Alfvén Prize Lecture:
I1.001  Laser plasma accelerators | Mon 8th h.09:40

Plasma Physics Innovation Prize

European Physical Society Plasma Physics Innovation Prize “for technological, industrial or societal applications of research in plasma physics”

The prize was established in 2008 by the EPS Plasma Physics Division to recognise and promote the wider benefits to society that arise from the applications of plasma physics research. The prize is awarded for proven applications beyond, but deriving from, plasma physics research, as distinct from promising ideas.

Plasma Physics Innovation Prize 2019:
Angstrom Laboratory, Uppsala University, Sweden
I2.005 Hollow Cathode Plasma Processes and Applications | Tue 9th h.09:00

PPCF Dendy Europe-Asia Pacific Award for Outstanding Research Collaboration in Plasma Physics

The PPCF Dendy Europe-Asia Pacific Award, established in 2018, is awarded for the collaboration which has made outstanding contributions to research in plasma physics. At least one researcher in the collaboration must be based in Europe and another researcher based in the Asia-Pacific region.

We congratulate the 2019 prize winners, Dr. Michel Koenig (Laboratoire LULI – CNRS, France), Dr. Norimasa Ozaki (Osaka University, Japan) and Dr. Yasuhiro Kuramitsu (National Central University, Osaka University, Japan).

Dendy Award 2019:
O1.201 Europe Asia collaboration On High Energy Density Physics | Mon 8th h.16:30


European Physical Society Plasma Physics Division PhD Research Award

The EPS Plasma Physics Division Board has pleasure in announcing the four winners of its 2019 PhD Research Award. The winners will present their lectures during the conference in Milan:

Giada Cantono, Université Paris-Saclay (France) and Università di Pisa (Italy), for her thesis “Relativistic plasmonics for ultra-short radiation sources” I2.201 | Tue 9th h.16:30
Eleanor Tubman, University of York (UK), for her thesis “Magnetic field generation in laser-plasma interactions” O4.J502 | Thu 11th h.12:25
Francisco Javier Artola Such, Université Aix-Marseille (France), for his thesis “Free-boundary simulations of MHD plasma instabilities in tokamaks” O4.111 | Thu 11th h.18:00
Michael Faitsch, Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (Germany), for his thesis “Divertor Power Load Studies at ASDEX Upgrade and TCV” O4.108 | Thu 11th h.18:15


Call for entries for the PPCF/EPS/IUPAP poster prizes

This award is assigned by the international journal Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion (PPCF), the European Physical Society (EPS) and the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics.

To enter your poster in the running for the PPCF/EPS/IUPAP PhD poster prize, simply send an e-mail to with “PPCF/EPS/IUPAP PhD Poster Prize” in the subject line. Please include:

  • your name
  • poster title and number
  • the day and time that you are presenting your poster
  • the abstract

The competition is open to PhD students only.
The deadline for submissions is July 1st, 2019.

Itoh Project Prize

One successful PhD student at this year’s European Physical Society (EPS) Conference on Plasma Physics in Milan, Italy (8 to 12 July 2019) will win an expenses-paid scientific visit to Japan.

This is the fifteenth time that the “Kyushu University Itoh Project Prize” has been offered to PhD students presenting a poster at the conference. To be eligible, the subject of the poster must relate to turbulence, transport and confinement physics in plasmas, broadly defined. The winner will be invited to visit Kyushu University, Japan, for one week, including paid flights and living expenses. For a list of previous winners, together with the titles of their successful posters, please see here.

To be considered for this prize, you must be a PhD student presenting a poster at the EPS conference in Milan. During the conference you will be interviewed, at your poster, by an experienced researcher, and the winner will be announced at the end of the conference and on the Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion (PPCF) website. The administration of this award will be facilitated in part by PPCF.

To enter your poster in the running for the Kyushu University Itoh Project Prize 2019, simply send an e-mail to by 1 July 2019 with “Kyushu University Itoh Project Prize” in the subject line. Please include your name, your poster number, the day and time you are presenting your poster, plus the abstract. One of the judges will visit your poster during the relevant poster session of the conference.